Illinois has strict DUI laws. Someone arrested for Illinois DUI first offense may spend up to a year in jail and be charged a hefty fine. Repeat drunk drivers face even stiffer penalties with enhanced incarceration periods and more costly fines.
If a driver is arrested and fails or refuses to submit to blood alcohol content (BAC) testing, their driver’s privileges will be suspended. For example, a first time offender who fails a chemical test may be looking at a 6 month suspension, whereas someone who refuses a test may lose their license for 12 months.
If you are charged with Illinois DUI you may be offered a plea bargain where you plead guilty to a lesser offense such as reckless driving instead of going to trial and asserting your innocence to the drunk driving charge. Although a driver will have to contend with the consequences of a guilty plea to a lesser charge, they cut the risk of being found guilty of a more serious drunk driving charge if they are found guilty in court.
Plea bargains in a DUI first offense case may allow your attorney to negotiate a plea deal that does not include jail time, allowing a defendant to plead guilty to a lesser offense punishable by only a fine. As for a license suspension, an attorney may request that the judge void the statutory summary license suspension, perhaps allowing a defendant to plead guilty to a lesser offense that does not include a license suspension penalty.
If you have been charged with Illinois DUI, it is crucial to work with an experienced DUI attorney who can advise you on the best course of action. Attorney Ronald L Bell has been recognized as 10 Best DUI Attorney in Client Satisfaction by the American Institute of DUI/DWI Attorneys and he can help you. Call today at 847-495-6000 or you can also contact us online and we will promptly respond.